Knowledge Base

15626: EU General Data Protection Regulation Law - Drake Portals and Drake Websites

Drake Portals - SecureFilePro

How does the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Law affect Drake Software users and products (Drake Tax, Drake Accounting, Drake Portals, etc.)? 


The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), a regulation in European Union (EU) law, is a new set of rules that changes the way personal data of individuals inside the European Economic Area (EEA) can be collected and processed. The deadline to comply with GDPR was May 25, 2018.  Among other things, the law can apply to non-EU companies who are offering goods or services to persons inside the EEA.  

As always, Drake takes the privacy and security of its customers, and of any person whose data Drake handles, extremely seriously.  Drake does not sell personal data to third parties and follows stringent data privacy and cyber security protocols to ensure the personal data it handles is protected.  Drake is a leader in the tax preparation software industry in advocating for and implementing high levels of cyber security and data privacy standards.  The GDPR is a unique set of regulations particular to EU law, however, and does not mesh well with the current framework in the United States. 

At this time, Drake Software is not conforming with the extensive and costly requirements of the GDPR since we do not target business clients or consumers in the EEA.  Our products and services are, and always have been, aimed at US-based business clients and consumers.

In light of the implementation of the GDPR, however, we are taking further steps to ensure that any potential customers understand that Drake does not intend to sell its goods or services to persons inside the EEA.  This includes limiting access to certain web-based services when attempting to access from within the EEA. 

Impacted Countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • UK (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland)

Related Links

Also In This Category

On a scale of 1-5, please rate the helpfulness of this article

Not Helpful
Very Helpful
Optionally provide private feedback to help us improve this article...

Thank you for your feedback!

Article has been viewed 8.6K times.
Last Modified: 6 Months Ago
Article not rated yet.